What If We’re Wrong?

 

This is a question that arises on both sides of the Christianity and homosexuality debate. There are those who have been raised in a conservative atmosphere, who really want to see gays and lesbians accepted within the Church; but they’re just not there yet. They don’t understand why God would have anything against LGBT’s—yet they find it challenging to change their core beliefs so drastically. And why? Because it’s been preached from their pulpit for decades. In their heart, they know what they want the truth to be. But the “what ifs” keep them from knowing. Many of these people simply adopt the “better safe than sorry” motto, and never take a clear stance on the issue.

On the other hand, you have Christians who are struggling with same-sex attraction everyday. Each Sunday, they cower in the pew, wondering if people can tell. Sometimes they even serve in some manner: a choir member, a musician, a teacher, a youth minister, a preacher. They serve because they love God. But they fear what others would think or do if they found out. They could be talked about, shunned, or even worse, fired. After pleading with God about their sexuality, they begin to feel His presence and His peace. ‘Perhaps it really is possible to be gay and Christian’, they think. And even after years of reaching this conclusion, the question creeps in: “What if I’m wrong?”

Unfortunately, I don’t have any black and white answers. As I’ve said before, my mission is not to change minds; it’s simply to foster meaningful and life-giving discussions on a topic that is all too often silenced. But one thing that I do know: God meets us where we are. Life is ever-changing, and so is our comprehension and understanding of things. If we ever reach a point where we think we’ve got it figured out, then we need to re-evaluate. Jesus came so that we could have life abundantly. He doesn’t expect us to be perfect, but to constantly strive toward perfection. He wants us to experience his fierce love and his undying grace. He wants us to explore our faith and arrive at our own Spirit-led conclusions. And the best part? For everything that we aren’t, he is! We must do our very best with what we’ve been given. What can be more Christ-glorifying than that?

There are plenty of things I don’t have right. And I’m willing for God to show me those things of which I constantly fall short. It’s a process, and that’s ok. The topic of homosexuality and the Bible is no different than any other. It just happens to be a hot-button issue in our culture. People have strong opinions… we all do! But we should never allow our opinions to keep us from loving one another.

So this year, join me in saying “goodbye” to the “what ifs”. Let’s replace worry with prayer, and doubt with curiosity. And as always, let’s move forward in love.

5 responses to “What If We’re Wrong?

  1. Nice article! Perfectly written! I’d like to comment on the part of black and white answers. Even though it seems like it would be easier to have a black or white answer, I’m glad there are none. Jesus usually did not answer questions with black and white answers. Often he kept it grey with room for discussion and curiosity. I think that was purposeful. I think it keeps people seeking God instead of falling back on the comfort/safety of the religion, perhaps like the Pharisees. I think the mystery of God and the continual seeking of truth keeps our faith strong and growing, as faith seems to be a key factor in being in relationship with God.

  2. Here is a video that explain why many feel you can be gay and christian . http://youtu.be/9_racY3EtMk

    • I checked out the above video and it makes a good point about taking into consideration the original language and how a certain message can be changed by punctuation or wording.

      I think I get frustrated with scripture at times because it is hard to know exactly what is being said, and I fear misusing it. However, I love scripture from the Bible in that it is “living” and can impact us differently at different times in our lives. Our perspectives change or grow as we look at it from different angles due to time and circumstances and such. I love that we can keep seeking truth, and can continually learn more about God, and can gain wisdom from scripture….and prayerfully use the insight for the benefit of others.

      Because the above video used the example of the story of Jesus healing the blind man in John 9, I want to share some thoughts about that. It is one of my most favorite passages. And it has been one of comfort during this time of me coming to terms with my sexuality. I love that Jesus answers the Pharisees with the truth that the man was born blind because nature took it’s course. It was not the man’s fault or the parent’s fault due to any sin. I think that is the answer Jesus would give people who try to blame sexual orientation on something the individual has done or something that the parent did wrong. I would hate for my parents to think that they caused me to be attracted to women and that it is sinful. And, I have finally stopped trying to figure out what I did wrong. There was a period of time that I was ashamed and thought that I must be so sinful that I can’t even see how it came to be.

      The Pharisees questioned how it could be that the man could now see. They tried giving reasons other than the power of Jesus. I’d also like to think that when people ask “how can you be gay and Christian?” the simple answer would be “the power of Jesus.”

      And, it is the power of Jesus that I trust will guide us all into not a battle of who is right and who is wrong, but with peaceful collaboration to see what is truth?

      (I love that passage. There is even so much more going on in it, but those were the main points I wanted to share here. Please correct me, anybody, if I have misused use the passage).

      • Once again, Josha… awesome. The debate over Scripture is obviously one of the most heated when it comes to this issue. There are so many factors: translations, context, cultural cues, and simply tradition. But the Word of God IS living and breathing, and therefore constantly growing and changing for those who seek His truth.

        You said, “There was a period of time that I was ashamed and thought that I must be so sinful that I can’t even see how it came to be.” I connect so much with this. I used to think that I must have just been so far gone that I didn’t feel guilt anymore. It took me a long time to realize that Satan was perpetuating that lie.

        As always, thanks for sharing your heart. I don’t know if you have a passion for writing… but your posts are very heartfelt. Let me know if you’re ever interested in writing a guest blog. 🙂

  3. I like that you identify that “Satan was perpetuating that lie.” I have not really given credit to Satan for being involved in that lie. I hear so often that Satan is deceiving me into thinking that same-sex attraction is okay and that it is Satan’s lie that is guiding me down a sinful path. It is really nice to identify the real lie and I believe that in time, more people will be able to identify that as well.

    Also, I do enjoy writing when there is something on my heart, and I would be glad to write a guest blog. Thanks for the invitation.

Leave a Reply

