Tangible Hope

I’ve been attending the “This I Know” Bible Study for a month now. I don’t hesitate for a second to say that it’s one of the most profound and meaningful study groups I’ve ever been a part of. It couldn’t have begun at a better time, either. The first session began only three weeks after I was asked to leave my band due to my sexuality. My world was crashing down around me; and although I knew I had people who loved me, I felt very betrayed, very jaded, very victimized. I initially desired to go to this bible study because I assumed it would be primarily gay folks. Not true. In fact, as it turns out, there are three gay people total, and Jess and I are two of them! I have to admit, I was a bit uneasy at first. What would these people think of us? Should we even be there? Was this really for gay people at all? My fears were immediately cast aside. Each week, there is so much positive conversation! Not everyone agrees on every point, but everyone is treated respectfully. What a concept!

I’m happy to report that there is much more love and understanding than I expected. It’s tangible hope. I just never knew it existed, because my previous little corner of the world was so narrow-minded! This study group has given me the courage I need to get out into the community and be active. I’m discovering there’s so much to get involved in here in Nashville. In fact, the Belmont UMC is hosting the HRC “Equality Bus Tour” on October 15th. There will be a discussion panel from 4-6 pm. If you’re close to Nashville, I encourage you to come be a part of that.

In the weeks following, I plan to write more about the theology that is being discussed at the “This I Know” Bible Study. I apologize for the brief post, as I have been working to meet a deadline for another project. As you may have noticed on Facebook, I’m looking for guest bloggers. If anyone is interested, please contact me at lezchristian@gmail.com. As always, please consider sharing your testimony on our “Stories Page”, and encourage others to do the same. There are thousands of Christians out there who are struggling to understand their sexuality. They need to know they’re not alone.

I hope everyone has a wonderful close to their week.

Leave a Reply

