Letter From a Preacher’s Daughter: Coming Out Story #3

This post is part of the “Our Stories” project, where readers submit their testimony or coming out story. It’s important to engage in meaningful and life-giving discussions about a topic that is too often silenced. When you tell your truth, you help someone else accept theirs.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I grew up in a small, rural Oklahoma town. I am the daughter of a Missionary Baptist deacon. At the young age of 22, I married a man, “like I was suppose to”. I had two amazing and beautiful children. Their father and I divorced when they were one and four years of age. I had finally decided to be “me”. I had fought with my feeling for women since I was 14 years old. My own mother has told me that I am going to hell and taking my daughter(who also is a lesbian) to hell with me. She says that my partner, who is also a christian, is of satan. I have several family members turn there back on me because of my sexuality. I am presently, after 10 years of having custody, in the midst of an ugly court battle in the state of Oklahoma. A court system that believes that I child should be taken from their parent purely based on his or her sexual orientation. It has been a living hell for me. However! , I know where I will spend eternity and they can say whatever they want but I will never turn my back on God. Your prayers are much appreciated

-S. O. (Arkansas)

Leave a Reply

