Timothy Kurek on “The View”

Last week, I posted about Timothy Kurek—a Christian who posed as a gay man for an entire year. I have yet to read his book (although I plan on starting it this week), but I’ve been trying to stay up to date with his countless interviews. Many of you may have seen him on The View. But just in case you haven’t, here is the video clip.

I’m interested to know your thoughts on Timothy’s story. His views on the treatment of gays and lesbians within the Church has clearly changed. Do you think his view of acceptance has changed as well? Do you think his theological creed and interpretation of the Bible has transformed throughout his experience? He is building bridges—something that desperately needs to happen between the Church and the LGBT community.

As a child of God and lover of Jesus who happens to be a lesbian, I wholeheartedly appreciate his efforts of selflessness.

2 responses to “Timothy Kurek on “The View”

  1. I also very much appreciate his efforts to build understanding and would like to read his book. It’s in my queue. That said, I am not sure that pretending to be a gay Christian could give a person a completely accurate sense of what it means to be gay Christian. For Kurek, he would always have a sense, in his heart of hearts, that everything was going to be all right for him when the experiment concluded because he’s not really gay, and he’s not risking his salvation. For those of us who live this, it’s not an experiment, it does not conclude, and the stakes are very real. Nonetheless, I am sure what he has done will at least give some serious Christians pause to question whether the “love the sinner, hate the sin” approach is a God-pleasing response.

    • Yes, Erin. I wholeheartedly agree with you here. When this story first hit the presses, one concern I had was that this guy may still think he needs to “convert” gay Christians into straight ones. But after hearing him speak, I don’t think this is his aim at all, which was encouraging to me. I think his book will be an incredible tool for Christians who may be on the fence about this issue. Getting certain people to read the book may prove the greatest challenge!

Leave a Reply

